Honoring Iowa's Seedstock Producers

The purpose of the Outstanding Seedstock Producer award is to honor outstanding cattle producers in the seedstock industry. Each Purebred Breed Association is given the opportunity to nominate one candidate for the award. Applications are reviewed by a Seedstock Committee, which gives careful consideration to producers programs in their entirety, including record keeping, industry participation and leadership, merchandising programs, selection criteria and herd improvement over time.

The deadline for nomination submittal is November 1, 2023.

Download the application.


Cason's Pride & Joy

Albia, IA

Cason’s Pride and Joy Simmentals has been in business for more than four decades and is owned and managed by Denny Cason.

Learn More


Lenth Herefords

Postville, IA

Lenth Herefords has been in operation for almost 50 years, but the business is far from old fashioned. Doug and Marilyn Lenth, of Postville, emphasize high quality seedstock, detailed record keeping and online marketing, creating a unique experience that draws in repeat customers and new prospects from across the country.

Learn More


Loonan Stock Farm

Corning, IA

Loonan Stock Farm is part of a longstanding tradition in agriculture at the Loonan family century farm nestled in southwest Iowa town of Corning. The Loonan family has been in the seedstock industry for 42 years producing Simmental, Red Angus, and Red SimAngus genetics.

Learn More


Schroeder Angus

Clarence, IA

For Doug and Glenda, a successful seedstock operation goes beyond genetics and sale results. It’s a way of life. For over 33 years, Doug and Glenda have had the opportunity to fine tune their operation and implement practices that add value to their cattle herd.

Learn More


Stalcup Farms Charolais

Prescott, IA

Stalcup, whose cattle operation is near Prescott, has been farming for 53 years. Cattle were not the early focus for the family, although there has always been a commercial cow herd on site.

Learn More


Knop Angus

Ida Grove, IA

Knop Angus Farms, which Gene and three brothers established in the 1940s, from the beginning built the farm’s breeding program on the goals established by their father, Fred Knop.

Learn More

Previous winners

2018Lenth Herefords, Postville 
2017Loonan Stock Farm, Corning 
2016Schroeder Angus, Clarence
2015Stalcup Farms Charolais, Prescott
2014Knop Angus, Ida Grove
2013 - EJ Shepherd Charolais, Stuart
2012 - Drake Simmental, Centerville
2011 - Driscoll Family, Williamsburg
2010 - Dale Studer, Creston
2009 - Duane Skarda, Afton
2008 - Mike Nolin, Monroe
2007 - Tom Lynch, New Hampton
2006 - Roger & Ann Vorthmann, Treynor
2005 - Buck Pangburn, Northwood
2004 - G.N. "Butch" Neumeyer, Walker
2003 - Craig Utesch, Correctionville
2002 - Noller & Frank, Sigourney
2001 - Jim Werner, Diagonal

2000 - Garth Griffin, New Hampton
1999 - Bernie Bolton, Oakland
1998 - Jim Bradford, Guthrie Center
1997 - Roger Pierce, Hancock
1996 - Robert Miller, Mabel
1995 - Gene Bedwell, Osceola
1994 - Buell Jackson, Mechanicsville
1993 - Dave Nichols, Bridgewater
1992 - Francis Bormann, Livermore
1991 - Jim O'Neill, Logan
1990 - Dale Schultz, Columbus Jct.
1989 - Jim Hemmingsen, Newell
1988 - JoAnn James, Searsboro
1987 - Gene Wiese, Manning
1986 - Byron Beukema, Newton
1985 - Al Hansen, DeWitt
1984 - Robert Dittmer, Lacona
1983 - Steve Radakovich, Earlham
1982 - Marv Nichols, Ankeny
1981 - Bob Christensen, Hastings
1980 - Richard Bell, Osceola