Iowa cattlemen recognized for voluntary conservation practices

| August 17, 2022

Contact: Anna Hastert, Director of Communications, Iowa Cattlemen's Association, 515-296-2266

Today, Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds, Lt. Gov. Adam Gregg, Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig, Deputy Secretary of Agriculture Julie Kenney and Department of Natural Resources Director Kayla Lyon honored 40 Iowa farm families at the Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Award ceremony. The award acknowledges farm families who have taken voluntary actions to improve and protect our state’s resources and the environment while serving as leaders in their communities. Of those recognized, six are Iowa Cattlemen’s Association members. Help us in recognizing the following farm family:  

Joe and Mitch Meythaler, of Meythaler Farms Inc., run a cattle finishing operation and feed roughly 2,000 head per year. The Meythalers raise corn, soybeans and alfalfa hay, and strive to reduce soil erosion, improve water quality and stabilize manure applications. Joe and Mitch remain leaders in conservation and continuously use of cover crops, rapidly increase strip tilled acres, and adopt new conservation technology such as saturated buffers. Methayler Farms Inc. has pursued saturated buffers and received support from the Cedar River Source Water Partnership led by the City of Cedar Rapids Utilities Department.

We’d also like to commend the following members for their on-farm efforts: Tom and Juanita Beeler, of Madison County, Mark, Joel and Matt Brown, of Plymouth County, Doug and Deb Maher, of Montgomery County, McLaughlin Farms - Scott McLaughlin, of Shelby County, and Meier Family Farms, of Page County.

About the Iowa Cattlemen's Association: The Iowa Cattlemen’s Association represents nearly 8,000 beef-producing families and associated companies dedicated to the future of Iowa’s beef industry. ICA’s mission is “Grow Iowa’s beef business through advocacy, leadership and education.”