Environmental Stewardship Award Program

The Environmental Stewardship Award recognizes Iowa cattle producers in all segments of the industry whose natural resource stewardship practices protect the environment and contribute to productivity and profitability. The goal of the program is to demonstrate sound environmental practices that are successful production practices. Award recipients are chosen based upon the systems, methods and approaches used to enhance the environment. Examples include: increasing pasture stocking rates, controlling feedlot runoff, beneficial utilization of manure and effluent, erosion control practices, increasing and maintaining wildlife habitat, or other enhancements to the air, land, and water resources.

If you or someone you know are interested in participating in the ESAP award, review the application guidelines or contact the ICA office at 515-296-2266.

State Award Winners:

* denotes Region III Winner         ** denotes National Winner

2018- Eddy Stock Farm, Randy & Denise Eddy, Centerville, Iowa (complete application and press release)

2017- SFI Inc., Lynn & Joy and Seth & Etta Smith, Nemaha, Iowa (complete application here, summary here, and press release here)* 

2016 - AJ & Kellie Blair, Dayton, Iowa

2015 - Glenn & Bev Rowe, Lorimor, Iowa*

2014 - Nichols Farms, Dave & Phyllis Nichols and Vivian Nichols, Bridgewater, Iowa*

2012 - Bittersweet Angus, Greg, Lola and Chris Wood, Greenwood, Iowa*

2011 - Werner Family Angus, Jim and Ann Werner & Family, Diagonal, Iowa

2010 - Couser Cattle Company, Bill & Nancy Couser, Nevada, Iowa**

2008 - Guge Farms, Mark and Norma Guge, Estherville, Iowa*

2007 - Ohnemus Farms, Inc., Duane and Mary Jo Ohnemus, Milo, Iowa

2006 - Clan Farms, Inc., Nick and Sue Hunt, Atlantic, Iowa*

2005 - Faris Family Farms, Lee and the late Martha Faris, Mount Ayr, Iowa*

2004 - White Family Farms, The Craig White Family, Estherville, Iowa*

2003 - Spring Valley Farms, Dale and Karen Green, Castalia, Iowa

2002 - Brad Z Ranch, Jim and Mary Bradford, Guthrie Center, Iowa*

2001 - Iowa River Ranch, Dave and Diane Petty, Eldora, Iowa**

2000 - Triple U Ranch, The Craig Utesch Family, Correctionville, Iowa**

1999 - Amana Farms, John McGrath, Amana, Iowa*

1998 - Greig and Co., John and Connie Greig, Estherville, Iowa*

1997 - Lubben White Oak Farms, Dave and Lisa Lubben, Monticello, Iowa*

1996 - Wiese and Son, Gene and Jean Wiese, Manning, Iowa*

1995 - Oak Creek Farms, Dave and Connie Williams, Villisca, Iowa*

1993 - Douglas Center Stock Farm, Ralph and Joyce Neill, Corning, Iowa*