Date: 12/13/2016 12:00:00 AM

Title: ICA Recognizes 2016 Young Cattlemen’s Leadership Program Participants and Names 2017 Class

AMES, IOWA – Twenty-one young Iowa cattle producers from around the state participated in the 2016 Young Cattlemen’s Leadership Program (YCLP). The Iowa Cattlemen’s Association program consists of a series of educational sessions designed to develop leadership qualities in young cattle farmers. The group met four times, focusing on leadership strategies, policy development, production practices and legislative advocacy.

The YCLP class also helps develop and employ the Iowa Cattlemen’s Association’s Carcass Challenge. We commend this year’s YCLP class for their recruitment efforts. Earlier this fall, 80 head of feeder steers were delivered to Kennedy Cattle Company. The proceeds from the Carcass Challenge will be used to fund educational programming, leadership development, and advocacy training for cattle producers. 

2016 Young Cattlemen’s Leadership Program graduates include:

Ashlee Bell, Scott County
Scott Cherne, Clayton County
Darrin Crawley, Guthrie County
Will Longinaker, Fremont County
Ron Lyon, Jr, Madison County
Justin Mendenhall, Decatur County
Drew Van Laar, Madison County
Skyler Rinker, Boone County
Nick Andresen, Ida County
Dustin Balsley, Mitchell County
Melinda Brahms, Cass County
Ryan Carlson, Boone County
Kellin Chambers, Pottawattamie County
Aarik Deering, Allamakee County
Tanner Deering, Allamakee County
Dillon Green, Sioux County
Kellie Gregorich, Jackson County
Clayton Hester, Mahaska County
Dane Kuper, Mitchell County
Haley Pagel, Fayette County

The 2017 YCLP class has also been named, and will meet for the first time in January. Participants in 2017 include:

Darren Arthur, Cerro Gordo County 

Darrin Axline, Cedar County 

Patrick Bries, Dubuque County

Holly Bries, Dubuque County

Allison Brown, Wayne County

David Bruene, Story County

Molly Bruene, Story County

Wesley Christensen, Clay County

Adam Darrington, Pottawattamie County 

Jake Driver, Pottawattamie County

Dawn Edler, Benton County

Ryan Healy, Marion County

Travis Hosteng, Story County

Delaney Howell, Louisa County

Grant Klopfenstein, Henry County

Tyler Krug, Benton County 

Matt Lansing, Dubuque County 

Clara Lauritsen, Audubon County 

Andrew Lauver, Calhoun County 

Tanner Lawton, Greene County

Jacob Louth, Jefferson County 

Grant Rathje, Douglas County 

Peyton River, Jackson County 

Leslie Ruby, Clarke County 

Patrick Ryherd, Marshall County 

Shaniel Smith, Appanoose County

Brian Tuttle, O'Brien County 

Drew Weyers, Marion County




About the Iowa Cattlemen's Association: The Iowa Cattlemen’s Association represents nearly 10,000 beef-producing families and associated companies dedicated to the future of Iowa’s beef industry. ICA’s mission is “Grow Iowa’s beef business through advocacy, leadership and education.”

High resolution photos are available at